Little Red’s Guest Book- Interview with Rachel De Oliveira (Cheeky & Sweet)

Image

Tell me about your small business- your products, your delivery information for customers, how long have you been in business and why did you start your business. 

My products so far are boys and girls beanies, hats, headbands, boots, bandana bibs and soon to arrive leggings. They suit babies to young children. It is very small at the moment as I just started 1 month ago. Delivery is australia wide and range from $3.90 to $6.95, all trackable, which is the most safest and convenient. I started the business as I was always looking for cute accessories for my little one (now 7 months old) and couldnt find it, or it was too expensive.

Describe a typical week in the life of Cheeky and Sweet. 

Busy! I spend my days looking after my little man, maintaining the house, cooking and cleaning, and looking after my husband! haha! In between all this I manage my business, marketing on facebook, managing orders etc, and I also manage to squeeze in some time to catch up with friends and mothers group.

Your favourite thing about using Facebook to sell your products. 

The broad audience. I love that my products can be seen by anyone, and it reaches so many people in such a short time, its great. I also get a great sense on what products are popular.

Advertise your business to the Little Red’s Readers in one sentence

Gorgeous accessories for your CHEEKY little boy and SWEET little girl.

Any advice for Mums who are contemplating starting up a small business? 

I’m still learning myself, being very new at this, but do your research, and just keep at it. The start is always going to be the hardest!

Do you market yourself in the community? How? 

So far only on community Facebook pages.

How would your best friend describe you? 

Perfectionist, happy, generous, and very organised haha!

Describe your business in three words.

Cheeky, sweet, cute!

What are two of your weaknesses and how do you overcome them? What are two of your strengths and how do you use them to your advantage? 

Self doubt would be one of my weaknesses, its hard to say I overcome this, but getting praise and and hearing good things from others brings me back up again. Organisational skills is definitely one of my strengths, it helps so much in terms of running a business, a home, and looking after a baby!

How do you wind down after a long week?

 I get lots of help from my hubby! He helps a lot with bubs and cleaning around the house on the weekends which allows me to have some ‘me time’! A glass (or two) of wine also helps

Describe three things you’ve achieved in the last 12 months and three things you want to achieve in the next 12 months.

 In the last 12 months would have to be getting through labour and having a beautiful baby boy, getting this new venture going, and keeping my marriage strong are my 3 biggest achievements. In the next 12 months it will be returning to my full time job as a Financial Planner, keeping a healthy work/life balance, and who knows, maybe baby number 2!

What or who inspires you in your every day life? 

My biggest inspiration is Max. He is my reason for everything that I do. All I want is the best life possible for him, and its up to my husband and I that he gets it : )

Image

Rachel and her little Max

(Image courtesy of Rachel De Oliveira at Cheeky & Sweet)

If you had 6 months free of financial and time pressures, what would you do with the time? 

Get our backyard finished haha! There is still so much to do, and I cant wait for it to be finished so when Max is old enough he can enjoy it.

What is your favourite small business on Facebook right now? 

Yuppy Puppy Dog Grooming in Macleod VIC. There is no other Dog Grooming Salon like it. They are unique in which they do not cage or restrain the dogs, which is so important. A lot of people dont realise the trauma that can happen to a dog when they are not treated right when getting groomed. I have so much respect for this business, and their love for dogs can really be seen

Any famous last words for your fans? For the readers of Little Red? 

Babies and children grow so fast, so take in every moment, and take a million photos!

Thank you to Rachel for her time in being part of Little Red’s Guest Book!

You can visit Cheeky & Sweet on Facebook here 

If you’d like to be a part of Little Red’s Guest Book, don’t hesitate to contact me via littleredwriting@outlook.com or comment appropriately below

LEJ

Drop me a line

