Little Red’s Guest Book- Interview with Tracy Speight (Warratahstree/ Social Artworking)

20130719-untitled-017

Tracy combining work and play at Burwood Neighbourhood House

(Image courtesy of Tracy Speight at Warratahstree)

Please tell my readers about yourself and your small business/es:
     
I have 3 main small businesses: 
1. Online and Local Market Sales: I sell unique hand-made Cards, mostly for special occasions and masculine cards.  I sell photographic images and greeting cards of Australian Wildflowers. I also make handmade Polymer clay jewelry for sale on commission or online sales.
 2. Web and Blog Consulting: I set up a basic Website or Blog to equip and enable small business owners to maintain their own sites by training them how to update and maintain their website or blog. I teach Ebay, iPad, and Social media courses at my local Neighbourhood  House, Burwood Neighbourhood House.
 3.Social ArtWorking: Social Artworking is a great fun way to have fun with family and friends and take home a great piece of art work at the end of the night.  I teach this new fun adventure at a number of venues.  It is all about fun and the adventure of having a play at learning art in a no pressure environment.
 
Which social media platforms should my readers follow you on?
 Being the Geek I am, I am on nearly all Social Media platforms. My main posts are on my Blog and Facebook but when I post, I usually post to all social media platforms with small changes depending on which social media platform it is.
(Follow Tracy and her Social Media Journey below)
 
 
What was the first thing you painted?
Folkart style daisies.  Very simple comma stroke petals and dots for the centre of the flower.  I was hooked!
 
Who is your all-time favourite artist and why?
 I have two all-time favorites
1. Sir Hans Heysen: I love nature, geology, and the bush. I studied Geology in South Australia and on many of our visits to the remote areas of South Australia, I saw  what inspired Sir Hans Heysen in his paintings.  I loved the study of Geological processes and formations as well as the surrounding environments where I did many of my Geology field camps.  I would often think I would love to get a picture of this, I would love to paint this….   Being a country girl and growing up near the mountains, I have always loved the rugged mountain views and the bush. I first saw Sir Hans Heysen’s paintings when I lived in Adelaide, South Australia. Sir Hans Heysen’s paintings were everywhere.I loved the way Sir Hans Heysen captured this ruggedness of the Australian bush. While out on field trips for my studies in Geology or out backpacking areas of the Flinders Ranges, I would often wish I could capture the beauty that Sir Hans Heysen did in his paintings of the bush.
 2. Ken Done: When I first came to Australia, in 1984, I lived in Sydney.  Ken Done was just becoming well-known for his whimsical paintings of Sydney. Ken Done made art look fun and exciting and when  I first saw his work I secretly thought I would love to be an artist.
 
How do you feel when people interpret your artwork differently?
I guess I feel a little sensitive about how people feel about my art, but Art is like beauty .. It is in the “eye of the beholder”
 
What is the toughest decision you’ve had to make in your business in the last few months?
My toughest is letting go of some things I enjoy doing to try to build my business in another direction.
 
What are three things you’ve learnt in the last month that has broadened your general business knowledge?
How to great a market plan for setting goals in selling my product or services to my potential clients.
 
What and or who inspires you to succeed in your business ventures?
 My husband is so encouraging.  My son’s fiance and son often encourage me to do more with my work.
 
What song best describes your work ethic?
I can’t think of one.  
 
What piece of advice would you pass along to budding artists and small business owners?
Never feel like you can’t do it cause that is when you will fail.  I think I can I think I can….Never give up on your dream.
 
How does your business reflect you as a person?
Flamboyant, goofy, always ready to give anything a go!
Lightroom (20130710-Social Art Working-001.NEF and 4 others)
Could a Social Artworking Party be your next night out with friends?
(Image courtesy of Tracy Speight at Warratahstree)
 
If you could be anyone else, who would you be and why?
Ken Done…his work is so whimsical and freeing
 
How would people communicate in a perfect world?
     
Honestly, but always considering the other person first before seeking your own agenda
 
What do you read on a weekly basis?
Blogs on DIY, craft or humour.  There are some really funny bloggers out there!  There is enough drama in everyday life, I like to wind down at the end of the day so I often  read novels that have a light theme, or feel good kind of theme.  
 
What do you think about when you are alone in your car driving?
LOL ok, I try to concentrate on driving, but I don’t think, I sing along with what ever is on the radio
 
I’m giving you $1m to launch your new small business tool- what is it?
A shop with many artists teaching Social ArtWorking to lots of happy customers.  A fun party for all every night creating great pieces of art work.
 
A penguin walks through your front door right now wearing a Superman costume- what does he say and why is he there?
Granting your last wish as a Geologist.  Get your fireproof suit on and come fly with me to see those volcanoes you always wanted to study……Don’t forget the camera for “Ron” so you can paint the memories.
 
Describe your business in three words.
Paint Connect Create
 
What were you doing the last time you looked at a clock and realized you’d lost all track of time?
Cleaning my Art room so I can start on a new project for my next class.
 
Give my readers in one sentence an advertisement for your business!
My business is about gathering family or friends to have fun creating a great piece of artwork.
Thanks to Tracy so much for her time in being a part of Little Red’s Guest Book- wishing I had even an ounce of her artistic grace right now!

2 Comments

  1. Pingback: Little Red’s Guest Book- Interview with Tracy Speight (Warratahstree/ Social Artworking) | warratahstree

Drop me a line

